Meet the Team: Christine Roussel

Say “hello” to Christine Roussel, an undergraduate student at the University of Prince Edward Island!

____________________________________________________________

I grew up in the small town of Edmundston, in northern New Brunswick, where I developed my curiosity for nature. As a child, I spent most of my time exploring my backward, hoping to discover something new. Soon after I started University, I quickly realized that Ecology is what I like. I am currently an undergraduate student in Biology at the University of Prince Edward Island. This coming fall, I plan on completing my Honours on northern arthropods with Dr. Donna Giberson.

 This summer, as a field assistant, I will be collecting arthropods in Goosebay (Labrador), Schefferville (Quebec), and Lake Hazen (Ellesmere Island, Nunavut). I will also be participating in the bulk sorting of our samples, and learning about this new, particular ecosystem.

I am excited to take part in this year’s field season and I am looking forward to discover northern Canada’s ecosystem. I feel privileged to have the chance to assist in this incredible extended study concerning northern biodiversity. This is going to be a unique experience where I also hope to learn about the local communities and gain research skills in Ecology.

Leave a Reply

