Meet the Team: Meagan Blair

Today, meet Meagan Blair, M.Sc. student at McGill University!___________________________________________________________

I obtained a B.Sc. in Biology and Environmental Resource Sciences from Trent University.  Throughout my undergraduate career I took various entomology classes, including medical entomology and forensic entomology – which triggered my interest in flies!  In 2009 I worked for Agriculture Canada in the Diptera unit at the Canadian National Collection of Insects.  After this job experience I realized that I wanted to focus my education around the field of entomology.  Aside from catching Dipterans, my interests also include soccer, basketball, hiking, and traveling.

My role in the Northern Biodiversity Program (NBP) is to assess the spatial distribution of higher flies between the northern-boreal region of Canada and the sub-Arctic and Arctic ecoclimatic zones.  I will be collecting at three sites each summer (2010 and 2011), identifying, and then spatially comparing species abundance.  A small portion of my project also includes comparing this distribution, diversity, and abundance to that of the Northern Insect Survey, which was conducted in the 1950s and 1960s.   With only a few weeks to go until field season starts, I’m really looking forward to meeting the team and experiencing the depths of Northern Canada.

Leave a Reply

